Thursday, July 22, 2010


July 1 Appointment Marks Election of First Woman Chairman Since Board’s Founding in 1961

The Board of Trustees of Barrow Neurological Foundation (BNF) has elected Patti Gentry, principal and designated broker of Arizona Commercial Advisors, to chair the Barrow Neurological Foundation Board for two years beginning July 1, 2010. Her appointment marks the first time a woman has been elected chairman since the Board’s founding in 1961.

Gentry, who joined the board in 2001, will serve as chairman for fiscal years 2010-2012. According to Gentry, it is the passion for the hospital that keeps her and her fellow board members engaged.

“I have two sisters who had benign brain tumors,” said Gentry. “Thanks to Dr. Robert Spetzler at Barrow Neurological Institute, they are both alive and doing well today. So each of us has a reason to be involved, and I look forward to working with the board to heighten awareness of each of their passions in the coming years.”

New officers of the BNF Board of Trustees also include:

· Vice Chairman: Lisa Handley, senior vice president and Arizona managing director of MidFirst Private Bank.

· Treasurer: Greg Anderson, CEO of Legacy Senior Housing and Development Company.

· Secretary: Herman Orcutt, retired managing partner of Orcutt/Winslow Architects in Phoenix.

· CEO/Assistant Secretary: Mary Jane Crist, vice president of philanthropy for St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center and CHW Arizona market leader of philanthropy.

The following new members have been elected to initial one-year terms on the BNF Board of Trustees:

· Barbara Barone, president and CEO of Biltmore Advisors.

· Shelley Ann Duane, president of Revelations Interiors.

· Catharine Bienvenu Fitch, vice president, investments for Raymond James & Associates, Inc.

· Barbara Greiner Glass, president of Barbara Greiner Glass and Associates.

· Karl James, partner and managing director of Capital Commercial Investments, Inc.

· Patrick J. McGroder III, a trial lawyer who specializes in catastrophic injury and wrongful death litigation.

Other members of the BNF Board of Trustees are Jane D. Alfano, Jack Clifford, Wayne S. Doran, Gee Gee Entz, Booker T. Evans, Lee Hanley, Linda Hunt, Mike Ingram, Guy Inzalaco, Stephen Lenn, Stanley W. Levine, Mac Magruder, Dr. Roy A. Patchell, Tom Reahard, Anne Robbs, Dennis Sage, Dr. Robert F. Spetzler, and E. Jeffrey Walsh.

Barrow Neurological Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to raising funds for research, medical education, and patient care at Barrow Neurological Institute of St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center. The foundation is governed by a board of trustees made up of community leaders who serve on a voluntary basis.


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

  2. 經一事,長一智。經驗是良師 experience is the best teacher.............................................................

  3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.