Monday, November 30, 2009

Eight Distinguished Women to Be Recognized at Dec. 5 Girl Scouts Awards Luncheon

Eight distinguished women have been selected to receive the Girl Scouts–Arizona Cactus-Pine Council’s 2009 World Awards and will be recognized at the annual World Awards luncheon on Dec. 5. As Girl Scout alumni, these women exemplify the Girl Scout Promise and Law in their personal lives and make meaningful contributions to the betterment of their community.

Recipients have been selected in seven annual categories: humanities, community service, arts, learning, courage, future and leadership. This year’s honorees are:

World Leadership Award
Lisa Keegan, The Keegan Company

World of Community Service
Kay McKay, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Flagstaff

World of Courage
Leslie Mihata Bloom, Partnership for Drug Free America-Arizona Alliance and
Lt. Jacquelyn MacConnell, City of Phoenix

World of the Future
Lisa Love, Arizona State University

World of Humanity
Marian Frank, The Arizona Republic

World of Learning
Melinda Romero, Chandler Unified School District

World of the Arts
Deborah Gilpin, Children’s Museum of Phoenix

The council has also selected eight Young Women of Distinction who are current Girl Scouts, ages 15 to 18, in the same categories. Those honorees include: Melanie Erin Picciano of Fountain Hills, World Leadership Award; Taylor Dawn Petersen of Scottsdale and Hillary Jean Eder of Mesa, World of Community Service; Sara Ellenberger of Ahwatukee, World of the Arts; Kaitlyn Amanda Stone of Flagstaff, World of Courage; Gabriela Marie Guerra of Arcadia, World of Humanity; Catherine Bina of Ahwatukee, World of the Future; and Alyssa Rollando of Ahwatukee, World of Learning.

World Award recipients will be recognized for their achievements at a luncheon co-chaired by Christine Wilkinson and Ellen Kirschbaum, and presented by Blue Cross Blue Shield on Sat., Dec. 5, at the Arizona Biltmore Spa & Resort. Event activities begin with a silent auction at 10:30 a.m. followed by a luncheon presentation at noon. This is the council’s largest alumni event of the year; sponsorship opportunities are still available.

The World Awards is open to the public and luncheon tickets are $75. All proceeds from the event will support new and existing Girl Scout programs. For more information, contact Leslie Friedman at (602) 452-7003 or visit

No comments:

Post a Comment